Delaware Drivers License Renewal

Renewing your Driver License

If your driver's license is about to expire, you need to act now. Renewing your license before it's too late can save you a lot of time and money. Our staff has researched the driver's license renewal process for every state, so all the information you need is right here at your fingertips. Click "Continue" below to get started..



Driver's License Renewal in Delaware

How to renew your Delaware driver's license


Driving with an expired driver's license is illegal in the state of Delaware. Make sure you keep track of the status on your Delaware driver's license so you don't get into a bad situation. You can even renew your license up to 60 days before your driver's license expires.

You are required to renew your driver's license in the state of Delaware every 5 years and with other than a slight few exceptions you must renew your Delaware driver's license in person at your local DMV office.

The DMV does not recommend this, however they do give you up to a year to renew your Delaware driver's license without having to repeat the whole licensing process over again, the only difference is you will have to pay a fine of $1.15, and take the risk of getting caught with an expired driver's license of course. So your best bet will be to be aware of your expiration date on your Delaware driver's license and head over to you local DMV office.

Below are a few things to keep in mind before driving over:

  • Make sure to have your old drivers' license with you.
  • Complete the renewal application form.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pay the required fees ($25).

A few exceptions to renewing by mail:

  • If you're stationed in the military outside of Delaware, you may renew your license by mail. See our Drivers in the Military section for instructions.
  • The DMV also grants select renewal-by-mail privileges on an individual basis. Call the DMV office to see if your situation qualifies for this sort of renewal.